Skip to content ↓
St Elisabeth's CE Primary School

St Elisabeth's CE Primary School

St James and Emmanuel Academy Trust


The St James and Emmanuel Academy Trust has responsibility for four local schools. It provides the leadership and governance of all the schools within the multi academy trust. Currently this is Didsbury CE, St Elisabeth's CE, West Didsbury CE and St Elisabeth's CE Primary Schools. The Trust is run by three distinct groups. Each of these groups is made up of representatives from the four institutions who uphold the Christian faith foundation of all the schools within the Trust. For more information about our Trust please visit

Please click on the link below to see the Trust page on the Church website.

The three groups are the Members, the Directors and the Local Governing Bodies. The Members and Directors are all representatives of either St James and Emmanuel Church, St Elisabeth's CE Church, St Wilfrid's CE Church or the Manchester Diocesan Board of Education.  The Local Governing Bodies have a majority representation from these four institutions but also include parent, staff and community representatives.

The Members

The Members are legally and financially accountable for the performance of the schools in the Trust and for the overall financial viability of the Trust. For their full legal obligations and powers, please see the "Articles of Association" below.

The Members are the minister of St James and Emmanuel Church, the minister of St Wilfrid's CE Church, the minister of St Elisabeth's CE Church, a Manchester Diocesan Board of Education representative and another representative from the Parochial Church Council (PCC) of St James and Emmanuel Church. The St James and Emmanuel PCC is well represented, as it was the founding body of the first school to open within the Trust.

The Members delegate a number of key strategic responsibilities to the Directors and the Members meet annually to hold the Directors to account.

Trust Structure:


  • Nick Bundock, St James & Emmanuel incumbent 
  • Greg Mauchline, St James & Emmanuel PCC
  • Paul Good, Diocesan Board of Education 
  • Andrew Bradley, St Wilfrid’s incumbent
  • Angie Stanton, St Elisabeth's incumbent


  • Nick Bundock, St James & Emmanuel incumbent 
  • Paul Good, Diocesan Board of Education, Chair of DCE
  • Miriam Jones, Human Resources
  • CFO, Sarah Storey
  • Paul Blackburn, Chair of WDCE
  • Lee Jamieson, Chair of St Elisabeth's
  • Geoff Stevenson, St Wilfrid’s
  • Jo Lynch, PCC
  • Matt Whitehead, Executive Head
  • David Finch, PCC

Local Governing Bodies (known as Governors)

Role Didsbury CE West Didsbury CE          St Wilfrid's CE                                St Elisabeth's CE
Chair(PCC) Paul Good Paul Blackburn

              Rev. Andrew Bradley                              Lee Jamieson          

Vice Chair (PCC) Matt Lee Paul Good           Geoff Stevenson(parent)                Rev Angie Stanton          
PCC  Cat Arundale Lucy Noden         Carolyn McDonald                         Rev Alison Mitchell          
PCC Abbie Jones Felicity Bradley Matt Croxall                                           Kate Dean  
PCC Helen Stallard Karen Michael Paul Good                                                Ruth Gent
Staff Chris Briggs Julia Heatley       Mandy Dhaliwal                                     Deborah Bradley 
Head of School Simon Ball Hannah Large Helena Miller                                              Bev Burrows
Exec Head Matt Whitehead Matt Whitehead            Matt Whitehead                                  Matt Whitehead          
Elected Parent Philip Robinson Anne-Marie Sarantis  Adam Hossen                                               Vacancy     
Elected Parent Vacancy Marie Turnbull            Vacancy                                                      Sam Collins       
Community - PCC Joyce Thom  Tom Studman               Vacancy                                                Gemma Davenport                             
Co- Opted Rev Nick Bundock Vacancy         Susanne Budgett                                         Vacancy             


The Directors

There are ten Directors, eight of whom are directly appointed representatives from St James and Emmanuel Church, St Wilfrid's CE Church, St Elisabeth's CE Church and the Manchester Diocesan Board of Education, along with the Executive Headteacher, who is a direct appointment of the Members.

The Directors take strategic decisions to improve performance across all four schools and to maximise economies of scale across all four schools.

The Directors meet formally together once a term, but also have extra meetings with the Trust's auditors to ensure that all the accounting regulations are adhered to.

The Local Governing Bodies

Each Local Governing Body meets every half term with a focus solely on their individual school's performance . Over the course of the year, they will meet with children and staff to discuss and monitor the key curriculum improvement areas for the school based on the School Improvement Plan. They look at work in books, question the children and staff about new initiatives and report back to the Directors via the Chair at the termly Directors' meetings.

For more information on their role, please see the Local Governing Body page on this website.

All our Members, Directors and Governors have to declare their pecuniary interests at the beginning of every meeting and confirm their eligibility to stand in public office annually.

All our Members, Directors and Governors have current enhanced DBS checks. For more information about the Trust please click on the bright green Trust button on the top right of this page or use this link - St James and Emmanuel Trust